A Moonlit Dream

I always had an interest in space but I never imagined going to the moon. Until one day I thought going to the moon would be a good idea because I would get to float around in the spaceship, bounce around the moon, look through a telescope and collect moon rocks. So I watched a movie about going into space, called “Gravity”. The movie was very exciting and afterward, I went to sleep.

The next day I woke up and found that I was wearing a space suit with a helmet and an oxygen tank. I was very surprised! I looked around and saw that I was in a nice comfy chair with my belt buckled. It was a spaceship, and in front of me the screen read… “ABOUT TO LAUNCH IN 10,9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2,1 BLAST OFF!!!!!”

In my hand was my own blue and yellow telescope. Since there was zero gravity in space I decided to unbuckle my seatbelt and float around. It felt wonderful, just like there was some invisible water underneath me and I was floating on top of it. I floated all the way to a nearby door and opened it, inside were all the crew members including the captain who was directing the spaceship straight to the moon. The crew was glad to see me float through the door, it was obvious by the looks on their faces they knew.

One of them asked me, “How did you sleep?”

“Um, do you know me?” I asked

“Yeah, ‘course you entered the Junior Astronaut contest to win a free ride to the moon and won,” He said

“I did?” I was confused

“Well…I don’t think so,” I said

Oh, come on, look we are very near the moon. You can share my apples,” the person said

Once we were done we were on the moon. “Now on this mission, we only need to find moon rocks,” said the captain

I went to look for rocks inside craters and since there was less gravity on the moon it made it easier to bounce in without getting hurt. I found an odd-shaped rock that looked like a grizzly bear. I added it to my collection of 4 more rocks. I found 15 other rocks that pleased the captain very much. “Well, I think we shall go with this pile,” He said pointing at my pile.

And home we went. Then I suddenly woke up and realized that it was all a dream but maybe I would get to fly a real ship someday!

The End!

Leave a Reply

